Swinford Primary School's festive design features on Christmas cards across the region

Five-year-old Daisy Wurr will see her Christmas design across the region.

Monday, 23rd December 2019, 1:16 pm
Updated Monday, 23rd December 2019, 1:50 pm
Alberto Costa with Daisy Wurr's winning design. The designs from the runners-up Poppy Lane and Luan Power are featured on the reverse of the cards.

That is because the Swinford C of E Primary School pupil has been has announced the winner of the annual Community Christmas Card Competition, run by Alberto Costa, MP for South Leicestershire.

Mr Costa launched his Christmas Card Competition again earlier this year, inviting primary school pupils in his constituency to design his Christmas card for 2019.

A record number of schools entered this year’s competition with Daisy Wurr being award first place, winning a special House of Commons prize and certificate for his design featuring a festive Robin on the cover.

The winning entry was chosen by Mr Costa and Mr Andy Parker, operations director of Stoney Stanton-based Calor Gas, who sponsored this year’s competition.

First runner-up in this year’s competition was Poppy Lane from St Mary’s Bitteswell Primary School and the second runner-up Luan Power from Greystoke Primary School in Narborough – both runner-up designs are featured on the reverse of the cards.

Mr Costa said: “My annual Christmas Card Competition is always a highlight of the year, and I’m really delighted that more primary schools than ever before from South Leicestershire have taken part again this year.

"All of the entries this year were particularly brilliant, which made judging the competition so difficult, but Daisy’s fantastic design of a lovely Christmas Robin was a very worthy winner”.

Mr Costa added: “Huge thanks to South Leicestershire’s own excellent Calor Gas for kindly agreeing to sponsor my card competition again this year, and to all the schools and pupils who took the time to take part in the competition.

"I’m already really looking forward to next year’s competition and hope to see even more pupils from across the constituency taking part”.