Bulls Head leapfrog the Fox following oche battle

The Bulls Head Arthingworth leapfrogged The Fox from Wilbarston in a game that went down to the final leg.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 12th February 2020, 5:11 pm
Bowls open day
Bowls open day

This Market Harborough Men’s Darts League contest saw The Bulls Head edge the pairs 5-4 and Kenny Craig’s 3-0 win over Ben Godlington put them in control.

This seemed to stir The Fox into action as wins for John Wardrop, Richard Hollis, Brad Godlington and Matthew Nottingham put them within a leg of victory.

Up stepped The Bulls’ Colin Bradley and he was the hero of the hour, winning all three legs including a 130 finish to secure a 14-13 win.

The Old Works from beat an out-of-sorts Nelson A 21-6.

In another one sided match, The Nags visited Desborough Services and came away with a 24-3 win.

The Nags were 8-1 up following the pairs and were in complete control in the singles with a complete shut out.

The Nags winners were Ken Woolnough, Mark Booker (180), Chris Brain, Gary Thurston, Chris Cooper and Dom Drew.

Nelson B’s march to another A league title continued with 23-4 pummelling of Harborough Cons.

A 9-0 scoreline in the pairs was then backed up by winning 14 of the 18 singles legs on offer.

The victors were Andy Shillcock, Dave Claffey, Damo Brennan, Jamie Preston, Gary Wilson and Sean Kelly.

The Royalist’s good run continued as they saw off the challenge of Rothwell Cons, winning 18-9.

The Royalist were 6-3 up after the pairs and won five singles rubbers through John Burnham, Dave Bromley, Tom Cooper, Lee Whitehill and Dave Hill.

Desborough Cons remain the closest challengers to Nelson B, beating The Stag 20-7.

The Cons wee 7-2 up after the pairs and wins for George Burnage (144 start), Steve Mullins and Steve Line allowed them to take a firm grip on the match.

Wins for Ian Freeman and Jason McKay put the icing on the cake.