Wiltshire’s up to scratch to ensure winning ways

editorial image

ALASTAIR Wiltshire and Pete Jameson clashed in the Scratch Final at Market Harborough GC.

Wiltshire emerged the winner of the showdown.

Victor Bowie, the captain, had seen them off at the start of their big game.

KILWORTH Springs GC head professional Michael Bent switched sports temporarily to complete his third half-marathon, in his best time yet of 1hr 41mins.

He competed in the London half-marathon in a loop from the 02 Arena around Greenwich Park and back.

He was raising money for the Rainbows charity and was first home in their team of 60 runners among the huge number of athletes taking part overall on the day.

Bent raised £850 through his effort.

He had previously taken part in the Great North Run and in a local half-marathon.

MORE than 70 senior members of Market Harborough GC took part in a full handicap am/am and enjoyed an excellent lunch before the section’s annual meeting in the clubhouse.

Before the meeting the season’s major seniors trophies were presented by club president John Lord.

The Festival Chalice was won by Peter Chapman, the Kirkham Trophy by Eric Graham, George Atkins was Golfer of the Year, Bishop Trophy winner was John O’Connor, Winter League pairs winners were, Dennis and Vince Ward. Jubilee Pairs winners were Doug Penny, Peter Weiss, Bogey winner was Patrick Biggs, Winter Eclectic was shared by Roger Gillert and Mike Banks, Jim Ruskin Trophy winner was Banks, Senior Seniors winner was Francis Wilson, Past Captains winner was David Battersby and Vin Murray winner Chris Price. Hole-in-one success went to David Holyland.

Chris Crowther, John O’Connor, Bob Sharples and Tony Lane notched 98 points to win the am/am from Mike Menczer, Malcolm, Tomlinson, Robin Timms and John Grass on 96 point.

Mike Banks, Alan Cox, Stan James and Esteban Camps, finished third with 94 points.

Seniors captain David Smith chaired the annual meeting and thanked the section’s five-strong steering group and member Mike Wood, who is stepping down as welfare officer, and past seniors captain Guy Hartopp, for his help and support during the past 12 months.

He also praised both the greens and catering staff for the high quality of services they had provided.

Smith gave special thanks and made a presentation to Mike Banks, who retired after 10 years as section treasurer.

Mike Menczer is the new seniors captain. He said he was both honoured and pleased to be entrusted with the captaincy of the section and he committed himself fully to furthering the highly professional profile the section enjoys.

He congratulated his predecessor on his year and presented him with a memento. He introduced his vice-captain Rod Burrows and welcomed John O’Connor as the new treasurer in succession to Banks. Dave Wilesmith continues as secretary and Smith has taken over as welfare officer.

THE county golf Alliance meeting at Scraptoft was won by Matthew Cort (Rothley Park) with his 1-under-par 69 round on a wet and windy day.

He won by a stroke from Nick Prentice (Park Hill), 70, with a three-way tie on 72 for third between Bob Larratt (Kibworth), Craig Shave (Whetstone) and Ian Lyner (The Leicestershire).

Home club members Dennis Hewitt and Ken Abbott won the Gardner Stock Trophy at stake at this event for the leading pair from the same club. They were also first overall, with Prentice and Sam Gamble (43) second, Matt Ulyett and Rob Walling (Park Hill), 41, third, and Richard Wells (Longcliffe) and James Pretty, 39, fourth.

LUTTERWORTH GC’s Watson Cup, a four-ball better-ball bogey competition, was won by Simon Jackson and Martin Dickinson with their +6 card.

Tommy Porter and Phil Munden were second on countback after they had tied on +5 with Ian Wise and Ewan Bennett.

There was also a tie on +4, which saw Andrew Pearson and Ian Littleton fourth and Roy Pebody and Mark Bond fifth.