Stella and Lucinda celebrate as queens of club’s King tournament

editorial image

THE final of the Pat King women’s greensomes tournament has been played at Market Harborough GC.

Lucinda Lee-Tyrell and Stella Caudwell emerged the winners of a tightly contested event when they won by 2 and 1 against Gill Wooldridge and Cheryl Lock.

MARKET Harborough GC’s postponed Tungstone Plate tournament has been completed.

M Hedley (8) and C Young (11) won the Stableford competition with their total of 46 points, two clear of runners-up Rob Pollock (15) and J Milner (9), 44pts.

There was a tie on 43pts, resolved on local rule, which saw Hamish McAllister (10) and Earl Harrison (15) third from Paul Daffern (7) and P Roberts (15), with three more pairs locked on 42pts. S Winter (15) and A Wallace (20) ended fifth, J Anderson (15) and I Taylor (14) sixth; and N Lunson (13) and M Gardner (13) seventh.

KIBWORTH’S GC midweek Stableford winner was David Carter (18), who scored 40pts, earning the Les Jones Trophy.

Paul Hilliard (11) notched 38pts in heading division one from two tied on 37pts. Michael Tickner (9) took second prize on countback from Robert Estep (14). Andrew Johnson (23) led division two with 39pts from Ray Leeke (19), 38, with Stuart Robinson (21), 37pts, third.

KILWORTH Springs GC head professional Michael Bent and Cosby GC amateur David Ross finished first in the county golf Alliance tournament at Longcliffe GC with their 45pts total, four in front of three chasing challengers.

Alex Scott (Lutterworth) and Peter Edge (Rothley Park) were second on Alliance rule from pro Ian Lyner (The Leicestershire) and another Cosby amateur Jason Tebbutt, with Scraptoft’s Eric Vittols and Graham Bright third.

Lyner, Matthew Cort (Rothley Park) and Craig Shave (Whetstone) all shot 1-under-par-71 to tie first in the pro medal, with Bob Larratt (Kibworth) 73 fourth.

Larratt and county golf union president elect Keith Tripp (Lingdale) won the pro/am section prize with 40pts and also on this mark were Julian Harris (Glen Gorse) and Mark Frankham (Lutterworth) in winning the am/am section 

Dennis Hewitt (Scraptoft) had a hole-in-one when he hit his 8-iron from the tee of the tricky 15th hole.

DAVID Evrall won the Ullesthorpe Court Hotel and GC club championship and went on to compete in the county golf union Club Champion of Champions tournament over 36 holes at Lingdale GC.

Evrall fired a new course record in his home club championship – after opening with 70 in his first round, following up with his fine 8-under-par 64 to pip the existing record, held by county champion David Gibson (Cosby), by three.

Gibson shot his 67 record in Ullesthorpe’s 2010 Anniversary Week.

Evrall’s 10-under-par-134 total saw him win by 10 from Gareth Watkins (74-70-144), with Russell Ward (73-74-147) third.

In his record 64 round Evrall birdied three holes in a row from the 4th, then five in succession from the 14th. He did not drop a shot in his round, playing really well tee to green.

He said: “I got up and down at the 1st and 2nd, but then hit all the remaining greens in regulation. It was my sixth club championship at Ullesthorpe and I regained the title, having lost last season in a three-man play-off.

“I also won the Assistants Trophy at Ullesthorpe with 43pts and have come down from scratch at the start of August to +2 after this competition.”

In the county union tournament, Evrall was runner-up 74-72, sharing second with Steve Sansome (Birstall), 72-74 on 146, with Gibson taking this title after 74-71 rounds for his 145 total.