Glee for Glen as club’s under-35s celebrate league glory again

editorial image
Have your say

GLEN GORSE GC are the county under-35 league champions this season.

The climax of the eight-a-side inter-club foursomes tournament, played off handicap, came at Stapleford Park Hotel and GC.

It is the second time Glen Gorse have taken the title in the league with their previous success back in 1988.

In the semi-finals Glen Gorse beat Forest Hill 3-1 and met Kibworth in the final, who went through against Cosby in a sudden-death play-off.

The teams had been 2-2 in the semi, but Kibworth claimed their spot in the decider.

In the final against Kibworth, Glen Gorse won 2-1, with one game halved.

Details: (Glen names first): Stef Elks and Alastair Stewart halved with Sam Moxon and Jack Dunkley; Jamie Monk and Matt Wilson beat Kristian Ludlan and Jamie Watson 3 and 2; Liam Morton and Danny Stewart lost to Oliver Stanway and Joe Duval 2-holes; Ashley Mason and Jonny Davies beat Sam Woodall and Liam Dunkley 4 and 3.

BOB Larratt (Kibworth) shot one under par 70 in the county golf Alliance tournament at Cosby GC.

But he was runner-up in the pro individual section to the in-form Craig Shave (Whetstone), who took top spot with his six under 65, which featured no fewer than eight birdies.

Lee Challinor (Lutterworth) 72 was third.

But Larratt and Glen Gorse amateur Julian Harris were first overall in the Stableford tournament after amassing 46 points, three more than runners-up Shave and Keith Akiens, a host club member.

They had tied on 43pts with Larratt and Steve Bowyer (Glen Gorse) third.

Larratt’s card counted towards Bowyer’s return when his original partner was unable to compete at the last minute, so he had to draw a partner – Larratt.

Challinor and Bob Allsopp (Lutterworth), on 41pts, were fourth overall.

MARKET Harborough GC men senior section members have competed in their bogey tournament.

Testing windy conditions proved no handicap for Patrick Biggs, who came in with what officials described as “a remarkable plus 5 return” to finish 2 ahead of his nearest challengers. Derek Veevers was runner-up on countback from Guy Hartopp.

David Battersby (+2) and Dennis Ward (+1) completed the prize list.

A WOMEN’S medal tournament at Market Harborough saw Angela Allington top the silver division with her 85-15-70 return.

Sylvia Price (103-27-76) was the bronze A division winner with Myra Burrows (110-32-78 )heading bronze B.

Inge Walker (93-22-71) was first in the Plowman Bowl medal with a tie on 72 net between Jane Burley (9), second, and Shirley Percival (14), third. Qualifiers from 2012 competitions were eligible to play in this event.

A TEAM competiton at Kibworth GC was won by Greg Hunter, Nathan Higgs and Glenn Beere with their total of 83 Stableford points.

Jamie Watson, Paul Watson and Colin Fawcett (82pts) were runners-up.

There was a tie on 80 points with third spot going to David Roebuck, Andy Cooper and Tom Duff on local rule from Sam Moxon, Sam Woodall and Oliver Stanway fourth.

Tom Matthew, Ben Matthew and Lee Purdy (79pts) were fifth after a tie with A Cook, G Rowlands and B Gisborne.

A MEDAL tournament at Lutterworth was won by David Stead with his 73-8-65 return, one in front of David Jardine, 
with Mark Mair (79-12-67) third after a tie with Stuart Holton (11), who was the division one winner. Ben Lincoln (74-6-68) was runner-up in division one, also after a tie.

John Lester (84-15-69) topped division two from David 
Bridge (85-15-70).

Sam Skerratt was round in 73 to take the scratch prize and top junior was Josh Ewen with his 90-18-72 return.

Back to the top of the page